Desert Island DVDs: Jónína Leósdóttir

att_1442273366785__mg_5057-2

Novelist, playwright, and journalist Jónína Leósdóttir started her career writing for a weekly newspaper. She later became editor of the weekly newspaper Pressan and assistant editor of a women’s magazine. Her first novel was published in 1993. Recipient of several awards including the national poetry award, she has been writing full-time since 2006. Published in Iceland and Germany, Jónína has written fifteen books.

Making history as the first same-sex spouse of a head of state, in 2013 she wrote a book about their relationship. Interviewed by Women’s Hour and The Telegraph she spoke about challenges they faced and inspiring others to embrace their sexuality.

Her debut crime novel, Shudder, introduced readers to Edda, an Icelandic Miss Marple. Recently retired and returning from a trip to the Canary Islands, Edda receives a letter from the son of a German penpal asking for assistance locating his mother. A sequel, The Girl Nobody Missed, will be published later this year. Jónína will read extracts from the Edda novels during the Iceland Noir walking tour of Reykjavik.

halloween_iconic11

‘I very rarely watch films or TV-series more than once. No matter how much I enjoy the material, the next time I always look for something new. Therefore, I would have a hard time on a desert island with only five things to watch, over and over again, and would need to choose extremely carefully.’

‘Although The Sound of Music was released in 1965, it wasn’t shown in Iceland until 1968. At that time I was 14 years old and addicted to anything romantic, so that film really hit the spot. I couldn’t get enough of it and saw it several times at the cinema in a matter of a few weeks. It is still the film I have seen most often.’

‘Many years later, someone summed me up as a person who had never returned to ground after seeing The Sound of Music. In other words, that I was a romantic fool and unrealistic in believing that in the end, good would always conquer evil. So, stranded on a desert island, I think that would be a good film to watch regularly.’

calendar-girls-images-c22148e3-cd9c-401f-baa9-fe89b3ee0e8

‘To make me laugh, I would probably pick the classic Fawlty Towers (a complete set, of course), Educating Rita or The Calendar Girls. This is the hardest category to fill, as jokes tend to stop being funny when you have heard them before. Therefore, the comedy would have to have a bit of depth, too.’

‘I have never laughed so much or so loud, as I did when I saw The Calendar Girls. My mother and my wife, who were with me at the cinema, shrank in their seats with embarrassment. But I would probably end up picking Educating Rita, as I find the story so endearing and both Julie Walters and Michael Caine are perfectly cast. Actually, I saw them in the play in the West End, before the film was made.’

abigail-2

‘If there is such a thing as a box-set of all Mike Leigh films, I would not hesitate to take that with me to a desert island. (Yes, I know that is a bit greedy.) I think I have seen all his films and I find them absolutely wonderful. What an amazing director … the actors all seem to be totally unaware of the camera and the dialogue comes across as incredibly effortless and realistic.’

‘My top favourites are Secrets & Lies and Vera Drake, and Abigail’s Party is extremely amusing.’

MCDPRIE EC002

‘For Drama with a capital D, I would definitely choose Priest – not the more recent film with that title, but the one written by Jimmy McGovern from 1994. It is about a young Catholic priest struggling with his sexuality and an older priest, played by Tom Wilkinson, who has little problem with his conscience about his affair with the housekeeper. I simply love this film.’ 

the-bridge-iii_image_

‘Finally, something criminal and thrilling is a must. But that would be a struggle, too, as I would be torn between two series: The Bridge (Danish/Swedish) or River (UK). Both series gave me such pleasure. The main characters are so flawed and lovable, the actors are fantastic and the cinematography amazing.’

‘When The Bridge series were on, I watched each episode on Danish TV on Sunday evenings and then again on Icelandic TV on Mondays, because I didn’t quite catch all the dialogue in Danish/Swedish.’

Thanks to Jónína Leósdóttir and Iceland Noir.

Iceland Noir booking information.

1 thought on “Desert Island DVDs: Jónína Leósdóttir”

Leave a Reply

